Reading Time: 3 minutes

Right on the back of narrowly losing against India in the Asia Cup final, Bangladesh are back in action again, pitting their wits against the Netherlands. Bangladesh, with a 2-1 ODI series victory over India in June 2015, is a different animal than the 2004 team. They have a fantastic squad at the moment, probably the best ever. Bangladesh will take on the Netherlands in the first Group A fixture at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala tomorrow Wednesday March 9th.

Where to watch Bangladesh live

The game kicks off at 3pm IST and as usual coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD, or Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3 will telecast it in India.

Check out some great bars that show the big games


Bangladesh is now one of the firm favorites to progress to the group stages of the T20 World Cup. Mashrafe Mortaza’s side defeated Pakistan, Sri Lanka (defending champions), and the United Arab Emirates to reach the final of the Asia Cup. Locals will want more, given a taste of the potential of this young team, they have their sights set on gold.

MS Dhoni’s side proved too much for Bangladesh in the final as the hosts lost out in their first final. The Netherlands are not to be underestimated, seeing off England twice in T20 World Cup matches in the past. A win for them over Bangladesh will be a major boon heading into the two remaining qualifiers.

Betting Odds:

Bangladesh to win: 3/11

Netherlands to win: 7/3

Squad News:


Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed, Shakib Al Hasan


Peter Borren (c), Ahsan Malik, Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Tom Cooper, Vivian Kingma, Stephan Myburgh, Max O’Dowd, Michael Rippon, Pieter Seelaar, Logan van Beek, Timm van der Gugten, Roelof van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren, Wesley Barresi

ICC T20 World Cup Schedule 2016:

16 teams compete, the top eight teams in the ICC T20 Ranking 2016 automatically progress to the Super 10 Stage. The remaining eight teams battle it out in the group stage, from which only two teams advance to the Super 10 stage.

Round One Group A Teams: Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands, Oman

Round One Group B Teams: Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong, Afghanistan

Bangladesh is considered the strongest team in group A but Ireland and the Netherlands cannot be ruled out. In group B Zimbabwe and Afghanistan are the powerful contenders. The top teams of group A and group B would qualify for the second round where they will play the big dog of world cricket. For the second round, the ten teams have been divided further into groups A and B comprising of 5 teams each.

Super 10 Stage Group 1 Teams: Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England and the top team of group B.

Super 10 Stage Group 2 Teams: India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and the winner of group A.

Bangladesh Match Schedule

Wednesday March 9th: Bangladesh vs Netherlands

Friday March 11th: Bangladesh vs Ireland

Sunday March 13th: Bangladesh vs Oman

ICC Facts:

Past champions

2007- India by beating Pakistan

2009- Pakistan by beating Sri Lanka

2010- England by beating Australia

2012- West Indies by beating Sri Lanka

2014- Sri Lanka by beating India

Biggest victory margins

By runs

Sri Lanka beat Kenya by 172 runs in 2007

By wickets

Australia beat Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in 2007

Most runs

Mahela Jayawardene, Sri Lanka, 1,016 in 31 games

Most wickets

Lasith Malinga, Sri Lanka with 38 in 31 games

Most sixes

Chris Gayle, West Indies, 49

Write A Comment